La-Lauzeta_milie-del_photography-23La-Lauzeta_milie-del_photography-25

La Région

En remontant des plaines vers le nord où se situent les montagnes du Parc naturel régional du Haut-Languedoc, les vignobles s’entourent d’une garrigue toujours plus verdoyante, couverte de châtaigniers, noisetiers, cerisiers et chênes verts.

La garrigue, comme nous le savons, donne au lieu son nez complexe : une merveilleuse combinaison de mimosas, amandiers et pêchers en fleurs, églantiers et mûres sauvages qui se marient avec les notes herbacées de fenouil, romarin, genévrier, lavande et thym. C’est un réel plaisir des sens, accentué par les sangliers se cachant dans les bosquets d’où s’envolent les oiseaux de proie.

Depuis les vignes, la vue s’étend de l’escarpement de calcaire abrupt du Pic Saint Loup près de Montpellier à l’est, puis le long des marais salants et des plages de la côte méditerranéenne, jusqu’aux pics enneigés du Canigou dans les Pyrénées.

La-Lauzeta_milie-del_photography-23La-Lauzeta_milie-del_photography-25

The Area

Rising up from the plains towards the mountains of the Parc Naturel Regional du Haut-Languedoc to the north, the vineyards are surrounded by increasingly verdant scrubland covered by chestnut, hazelnut and cherry trees and green oaks.

The garrigue, as it known, gives the area its complex nose – a wonderful combination of mimosa, almond and peach blossom, blackberries and wild roses along with the herbal aromas of fennel, rosemary, juniper, lavender and thyme. It truly is a feast for the senses, alive with rummaging wild boar and soaring birds of prey.

Standing amongst the vines, the view stretches from the steep limestone escarpment of Pic Saint-Loup near Montpellier in the East, along the salt marshes and beaches of the Mediterranean coast, round as far as the snow-capped peak of Canigou in the Pyrenees.